I Really Mean It

I Really Mean It is a brief expansion fromMake it Mean developing a proper concept and coming up with a final body of work that doesn’t only express the context to me but my audience. My final idea is to desexualise body parts. I drew some prints desexualising the body parts I found were most common. On my private girl group chat/blog I asked random girls if anyone had had an experience where their bodies had been sexualised and they didn’t want it to be.

I then decided to stick with the book Idea from the previous brief and turn some of these stories into real novels in a book. I used old mills and boon and sexy books exploring the format of the text and taking out the glamorised romance part and inserting what really happens to us women from the stories sent to me in chat and blog. I found altered books on Pinterest and youtube and started experimenting the different techniques they use. Collage, cutting, painting, glueing, pocket making etc…

I then came up with a mini series of books I made myself.

Leave a comment